Topics not covered by another category.

Moderator: Bill Edmundson

Barry

Spyware attacks?

Post by Barry »

Everyone,

I received these email from one of the forum visitors:

Hello, Love you site and especially the forum. But everytime I log on I get
eight or ten spyware attacks. Just thought I would let you know.

Hello Barry,
Sometimes I get a popup and sometimes it takes over the webbrowser and takes me to another site. I started doing a virus scan after going only to your site and had to clean out 8 - 10 spyware cookies even when nothing happens in the browser. Sometimes the computer just starts moving slower after visiting. I can send you a report next time I do the scan if that would help. I'm no computer expert so hope that answers your question.
I cannot see how this could happen, unless there is a link that has been posted that contains something...

I cannot duplicate his problem... has anyone else had a problem with anything like this when visiting the forum?

capt jake

Post by capt jake »

That is probably the cookies that are set by your site when you log in or ask the forum to remember you. It sends information back and forth without us really being aware that there is a 'transaction' taking place. I personally wouldn't worry about it.

John K

Post by John K »

I have not had this happen to me. I have a spyware and firewall that would tell me if this was going on. Like Capt Jake stated it may be the cookies from your site.

GregH

Post by GregH »

I haven't ever noticed anything like they describe either. The only thing I wonder about is why it ALWAYS takes me 2 tries to log in LOL...

just not sure about me eh? heheh

cheers
Greg
I can't do everything, but I can do something.

Scott C

Post by Scott C »