Digital format of Glen-L plans

Topics not covered by another category.

Moderator: Bill Edmundson

Gayle Brantuk

Digital format of Glen-L plans

Post by Gayle Brantuk »

Hello!

We have been getting more and more requests for our plans in digital format. Since I am a COMPLETE novice at this (i.e. dummy), I don't know what I don't know.

Our concern has always been how our clients would use a digitized version of our plans & patterns. If you have them on disk, how would you print out the full size patterns, or do you have access to CAD machines? Most of our designs do not include a table of offsets since we have the full size patterns.... is that a problem? What type of file is best?

Bottom line is that I could really use input from those of you who know. Plus, I know many of you have actually converted our plans to digital. I sure hope to get some feedback... we really do want to meet your needs to the best of our abilities...Thank you!

kens

Post by kens »

If they are digital computer file, how do you prevent the pirates copies?

Oyster

Post by Oyster »

If you do this, limit your plans to under 16 feet. You are opening yourself up for a lot of grief in the amateur market for legitimate builders in the bigger ones, from my opinion, not withstanding the pirating which already takes place. Hard plans purchased from you at least makes them work a bit more for the reproduction of the plans. :wink: There is one plans provider that has personally hacked one of my 16 footers simply by a detailed building link off the internet before I was computer wise to what takes place across the net. I never owned a computer until 1999. I have learned a lot from some hard results of being naive.

leakcheck

Re: Digital format of Glen-L plans

Post by leakcheck »

we really do want to meet your needs to the best of our abilities...Thank you![/quote]

OOO OOOHHH oooooHhhh I have a line...I have a line !!! oooohhhh...I can barely control myself !..