Questions about...everything

Canoes, Kayaks, Pedal power

Moderator: BruceDow

tmstacrs

Questions about...everything

Post by tmstacrs »

So basically I am completely new to boat building and coincidentally this website. I would like to build the 17' Whitehall rowboat but need guidance.

Firstly, would 300+lbs. be intimidating/unreasonable for one man to row?
Also could an outboard be attached to this?

I have my heart set on the Dulce boat (http://www.glen-l.com/designs/canu-row/dsn-whle.html) and would like to recreate it. I assume it is fiberglass but i was thrown off by some of the wood like the rear (transom?) for example. Any advise on how to achieve this look would be greatly appreciated.

On the catalog page ( http://www.boatdesigns.com/products.asp?dept=190 ) i can not determine if the Fiberglass kit contains all of the materials i would need to construct it. ( would i need and wood components or is the fiberglass boat solely fiberglass)

Would you recommend any other things to purchase. I'm probably going to get the how to fiberglass a boat book.

Thanks in advance

Dave Grason

Post by Dave Grason »

WOW, you really ARE new to this. Well, don't feel bad cause we all have been there and you have arrived at the right place.

The fiberglass materials you're refering to involve the epoxy and fiberglass cloth required to protect your WOOD boat. This method of boatbuilding means you'll construct the boat from wood and then encapsulate everything in epoxy. In areas where the boat is expected to get a lot of bumps and abrasion, you can put in a layer of fiberglass cloth called "deck" cloth. It's usually about 4-6oz in weight and when you "wet" it out with the epoxy, it virtually disappears allowing the wood to show through. In other areas where you might want to paint your boat, you can go with even heavier cloth for even more protection.