row me 12 anyone?

Canoes, Kayaks, Pedal power

Moderator: BruceDow

kalbo

row me 12 anyone?

Post by kalbo »

Has anybody built this boat? I would like to know any pros or cons about it. I have the plans for it and several other boats. I was looking for a boat that would hold 2 people and some hunting gear be used for trips up the rivers. Has anyone had it out in choppy water. If so, how did it handle? Does anyone know what the safe load capacity is? :shock:

kalbo

Post by kalbo »

I read on the web site "General building and design questions will be answered in the Boatbuilder Forum, by other builders who have recently dealt with the same question or by our experts" Iguess nobody has built the Row Me? Anybody?

weber

Post by weber »

I have no experience with Row Me, but I thought I would mention that sometimes it might take a few days to get a question answered.

If the weather permits, I would hope that everyone is working on builds, rather than in the house, typing on a keyboard. :)

thudpucker

Post by thudpucker »

http://glen-l.com/picboards/picarchv.html#scrambler

You might try this link and then look for your RowME.

welshmx

RowMe Super Size

Post by welshmx »

The boat as planned obviously is a sheltered water design. I added six inches of freeboard along with ribs every 16 inches, floor braces and other reinforcements, in addition to the stitch and glue. Once the panels were sewn, I also "stretched" the beam at seat level, raising the floor at stern and bow. I did not increase the length or beam of the floor, but I am a large person and carry a lot of fishing gear such as nets and traps. Otherwise, the increased height might seem tippy or present a high profile in the wind. The RowMe SuperSize really is a sea skiff instead of a lake rowboat. I leave it in the water at the marina and tow it behind a larger boat, so am not concerned with the increased weight. All my additions were spruce, not very heavy, anyway

Michael45

Re: row me 12 anyone?