Stripper canoe design and build

Canoes, Kayaks, Pedal power

Moderator: BruceDow

stanekupnorth

Stripper canoe design and build

Post by stanekupnorth »

Hey I'm just getting into this boat building thing and really like the looks of the stripper canoe that uses stripped boards off of many different species of trees. I am just wondering if anyone has ever attempted this boat design and if so how difficult it is to build. Thanks for any info!
John K

Post by John K »

I have not done a canoe, but finished a kayak this fall. I did the bottom with plywood and the deck is in 1/4 by 3/4 inch strips of cedar. Fiberglassed the cedar and varnish it for a smooth deep finish. It took about 16 hours just to strip the deck. It just takes time and patience
mattr

Post by mattr »

Its not difficult. It does take time and two sets of hands are better than one.

I've just completed a stripper. It took just under a year at one day a week. The results are worth it. I'm now building paddles.
stonehollow

Post by stonehollow »

This is my third stripper - it's not bad at all (tools/methods improved much over the last 35 years)!

Arne
Arne
Bill Edmundson

Post by Bill Edmundson »

I've been looking for a chance.

John likes pictures you know! :)

http://share.shutterfly.com/action/welc ... bFszasWLrI

Bill
Mini -Tug, KH Tahoe 19 & Bartender 24 - There can be no miracle recoveries without first screwing up.
Tahoe 19 Build
John Bowen

Post by John Bowen »

Well, it's about time you showed that build off :shock: Only seen it hanging from the rafters of your shop collecting dust(!!) from your pic's of your other build :roll:

Nice work, still :)
One day.
Bill Edmundson

Post by Bill Edmundson »

And Boy is it DUSTY! :oops:

Now that we have a gate down at the coast, I need to take it down there and get some use out of it. :wink:
Mini -Tug, KH Tahoe 19 & Bartender 24 - There can be no miracle recoveries without first screwing up.
Tahoe 19 Build
Doug in the woods